During our seminars, interviews and surveys we’ve come across several questions about internet safety.
See if your questions are listed below, if it’s not, send us an e-mail and we will be happy to answer it.
The first rule is to be aware and proud of the photos you are taking. Snapchat, besides being a fun and cool app, it’s not 100% safe. The photos can be screenshot and there are even hacks (different apps) to save the snap without the sender being notified. Also, someone can take a picture of your snap with a second phone. So remember to be sure you are taking safe and positive photos.
You should make sure you are proud of your snapchat selfies as they can be screenshot and there are hacks to save the picture without the sender being notified (Using another phone to take a picture of a snapchat message).
If I am only sending a selfie to my friend, why does it matter if my school logo is in the picture?
Any selfie posted online or sent via devices should be posted/ sent with care- no identifying information should be posted or sent. This is because when you send a selfie you lose control of the picture.
Possibly, but not nearly as easily. If there is an identifying landmark, road sign, school crest in your photo or the background of your photo, this can give away clues to your location.
In this case your photo will not be added to the photo map (which allows people to see other people’s photos that are nearby), however, if someone does come across your photo, your location can still be tagged and GPS coordinates available.
If reported inappropriate, the photo will be reviewed by Instagram and if they decide it is inappropriate, it not appear on the news feed of other account holders who are under 18 years.
If my Tagging Settings are “Add Automatically”, can I just de-tag myself from photos that I do not like?
Yes, but for whatever amount of time it was posted until when you came online it was viewable by others.
Reporting: A report is sent to the social media site regarding that user. You can still see each other’s content- it is not the same as blocking! This action is reversible.
Blocking: This stops you and another user from seeing each other’s content. No report is sent to Instagram about that user. This action is reversible.