During our seminars, interviews and surveys we’ve come across several questions about internet safety.
See if your questions are listed below, if it’s not, send us an e-mail and we will be happy to answer it.
The first rule is to be aware and proud of the photos you are taking. Snapchat, besides being a fun and cool app, it’s not 100% safe. The photos can be screenshot and there are even hacks (different apps) to save the snap without the sender being notified. Also, someone can take a picture of your snap with a second phone. So remember to be sure you are taking safe and positive photos.
If anyone else is in your videos you should ensure that you ask their permission before posting online, even if they are just in the background. It’s a matter of privacy and being polite, as they might not want to be in the video. It’s better to be safe than sorry in this case.
If I am only sending a selfie to my friend, why does it matter if my school logo is in the picture?
If my Tagging Settings are “Add Automatically”, can I just de-tag myself from photos that I do not like?
Reporting: A report is sent to the social media site regarding that user. You can still see each other’s content- it is not the same as blocking! This action is reversible.
Blocking: This stops you and another user from seeing each other’s content. No report is sent to Instagram about that user. This action is reversible.